blitzhost.blogg.se

Netgear wnda3100 vs drivers
Netgear wnda3100 vs drivers








Said by Cabler5: I have a heavy amount of wired connections that terminate in the basement, so I have the router, modem, and gigabit switch in a mechanical room in the basement.The WND3700 gets its wireless capability via the way that it exploits MIMO. (In the case of the WPC600N, the recertified model isn't just cheaper than a new WPC600N, it's also cheaper than a recertified WNDA3100.) Why recertified? Recertified adapters (and routers, for that matter) are brought back (usually at the factory) to new specs, and covered by new-product warranties, and available at a fraction of new-product prices.

Netgear wnda3100 vs drivers Pc#

If it does improve the situation, then jump to a PC Card-based N adapter.įor USB, I'd recommend Netgear's own WNDA3100 dual-band N USB adapter, either new or recertified.įor PC Card, the recommendation is (don't laugh) Linksys by Cisco's WPC600N (again, either new or recertified). If you have built-in G on your laptop or notebook, do consider adding a wireless-N adapter (even a USB-based N adapter will do for now) as a test. Channel 6 is the default for G devices for most routers, and Netgear is no different. Move the channel assignments (for G) from the defaults. The WNR3500 has better range (for G) than the WRT54GS it replaced (that is, in fact, why the GS got replaced after nearly five years of otherwise faithful service).Ģ. I have no issue with a laptop on the first floor, and minimal issue with most of the second floor, despite the laptop having only a G adapter. I have the WNR3500 V1 (like all other RangeMAX and RangeMax NEXT routers, it stands vertically) and have a basement configuration in my case because the cable modem is off my bedroom (which is also in the basement). My #1 top suggestion would be to find a way to get your setup changed so that your WNDR-3700 is on the top floor or even in the attic. Why is it in the basement? As anyone who has ever had a radio transmitter knows, the higher your transmitting antenna, the more effective your transmission will be. I notice from your post that your unit appears to be in the basement, which may be part of the issue. I live in an MDU on the first floor with the unit in my bedroom near where most of my computer gear is. I also have greater range with my WNDR-3700 than with my (now useless) D-Link DIR-825 or with my Linksys WRT610N (one of the ports suffered ESD). Dual band is useless and I get no benefit from the router function, so I'm thinking about getting a wired gigibit router (not many out there) and a cheaper single band wl router as an AP. I'm assuming my only option is to us the WND3700 as an AP, so then I question why I need all of the horsepower of the WND3700. With the single line, there is no other option than using an access point? I can't use the wired router as a "switch" (kill DHCP) and let the WND3700 act as the router, can I? So, I believe with my only option is to get a gigabit wired router and use the WND3700 as an access point. If I had two lines, I could bring the dsl modem up connect to the wnd3700 and then use the other cat5 to connect to the switch in the basement. Since I only have one ethernet jack and no phone jack (converted the single cat5 line from phone to ethernet). My only option to get the WND3700 to the 1st floor is to use an office with a single cat5 connection. So unless I can figure a way to get the WND3700 to first floor, I think it's back to Best Buy for the WND3700. I can't stay connected even on the 1st floor (one above the router). I get far less range on 2.4ghz N vs G from the buffalo.

netgear wnda3100 vs drivers

With the buffalo, it was a stretch, but I could get consistent "fair" connection on the second floor.Īs far as range, I'm very disappointing with the WND3700.

netgear wnda3100 vs drivers

I have a heavy amount of wired connections that terminate in the basement, so I have the router, modem, and gigabit switch in a mechanical room in the basement.

netgear wnda3100 vs drivers

I've been very happy with the buffalo (especially with Tomato), but wanted to get wireless N and gigabit. I am "upgrading" from a Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with Tomato.

netgear wnda3100 vs drivers

I'm about to return my WND3700, but wanted to see if I am missing something.








Netgear wnda3100 vs drivers